You Should Wipe Clean Your Home Smart Gadgets Before Selling Or Giving Away

September 27, 2018

© Ylivdesign | Dreamstime

From time to time you find the need to upgrade your smart technology. Perhaps it's time to trade in your Amazon Echo for the new Echo speakers or you just aren't a fan of Google Home. The good news is all of this technology can be re-sold, and in the case of Amazon Echoes trade older models for Amazon credit towards new ones, you want to wipe them clean of your personal data. Since we're referencing Amazon Echo at the moment, here is how to factory reset your Echo and Echo Dot.  If it's a first generation, it is as simple as pressing the re-set button at the base of your device with a paper clip for about 20 seconds until the light ring turns orange. If you don't see a re-set button, you have a second-generation Echo and Echo Dot, which is reset differently. Press and hold the Microphone off and Volume down buttons on the top of your device for about 20 seconds until you see the light ring illuminate orange. Then release. The orange light ring should blue, switch off, and then turn orange again to indicate the device is back to its factory-default setup mode. You’ll also want to deregister it from your Amazon account. Pull up the Alexa app and open up the sidebar, then tap on Alexa Devices, tap on your device’s name, scroll to the “Registered to” section, and hit Deregister. You’ll have to confirm your choice in a popup. As for Google Home, press and hold the microphone mute button the back of your device for about 15 seconds. Google Home Mini and Home Max require you to press and hold old the Factory Data Reset (FDR), the small circular button is located on the bottom of the device below the connection for its power cord. Hold the button for about 12-15 seconds. You should get verbal confirmation from your device when it is factory-resetting itself. If it doesn’t say so, it didn’t reset. As with Alexa, you need to unlink your Google product from your account in the Google Home app, tap the device’s icon in the app’s top-right corner and open the settings of the device you wish to disconnect. Click on Linked account(s) and remove the user. For any electronic device including security cameras, Apple TV, Roku, Wi-Fi routers, etc., you should always do a factory data reset before you get rid of them.

SOURCE: Lifehacker

See and hear more from the 98.5 KTK Morning Show

98.5 KTK Morning Show Podcast